Warrick, Gray, Krupinski earn All-NAC honors

Warrick, Gray, Krupinski earn All-NAC honors

LYNDON CENTER, Vt. — Freshman guard Phil Warrick, sophomore forward Jason Gray and head coach Joe Krupinski of the Lyndon men's basketball program have been honored for their efforts throughout the 2010-11 season with selections to the All-North Atlantic Conference team.

Warrick took home Rookie of the Year and First-Team honors while Gray walked off with an All-NAC Second-Team selection. Krupinski was named the conference's Co-Coach of the year along with Husson University's Warren Caruso.

Warrick averaged 19.4 points in conference contests while shooting 45.5 from the field and .294 from beyond the three-point arc. He connected on .766 percent of his free-throw attempts while averaging 2.9 rebounds, 2.1 steals and 2.1 assists per game.

Gray knocked down .483 percent of his shots from the field and .250 of his three-point attempts in NAC play. A .833 shooter from the free throw line, he also collected 6.5 rebounds per game to go along with 18 assists, 10 steals, 12 blocked shots and an 11.4 points-per-game average.

Krupinski, in his third year at the helm of the Lyndon program, guided a program that started the season with nine first-year players on a 17-man roster to a respectable 11-14 campaign. After completing a tough non-conference schedule with an overall record of 1-11, Krupinski led the Hornets to a 10-4 mark in league play, earning the No.2 seed in the NAC Playoffs.

Among the list of All-NAC honorees is Husson senior forward Josh Jones, who was named the North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year. Jones, a two-time first team selection, scored 20.0 points per conference contest and ranks at the top of the conference in rebounds (11.6), third in steals (2.0), fifth in blocks (1.0) and fourth in field goal percentage (.543).

The Eagles finished at the top of the conference at 12-2 and have earned the top seed in the upcoming NAC tournament.

Joining Jones on the first team is teammate Jay Uhrin. The senior guard averaged 18.8 points in conference play for the Eagles. Husson's Uhrin ranks in the top 10 in field goals made, three-point field goals made, three-point field goal percentage (39.0%), free-throws made, free-throw percentage (76.9%) and points.

Farmington senior forward Eric Taylor is making his second consecutive first-team all-conference appearance. Taylor led the league shooting 60.5 percent from the field while averaging a sixth best 17.0 points per game and third best 8.8 rebounds per contest.

Last season's Rookie of the Year, Thomas' Jarrad DeVaughn also earned first team honors. The sophomore guard leads the conference in points per game, averaging 21.4 points in league contests with 7.2 rebounds for a Thomas team that finished 10-4 in league play.

Thomas senior forward Isaiah Brathwaite was named NAC Defensive Player of the Year. Brathwaite has been the Terrier's defensive stopper since his freshman year and at 6'5", Braithwaite was asked to defend 5'5 point guards and 6'10 centers.

Johnson State College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

2010-11 NAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams
First Team  
Jarrad DeVaughn So. F Thomas
Josh Jones  Sr. F Husson
Eric Taylor  Sr. F Farmington
Jay Uhrin  Sr. G Husson
Phil Warrick Fr. G Lyndon
Second Team  
Paul Campbell Jr. G Maine Maritime
Mark Comstock So. G Castleton
Andrew Duncanson Sr. G Thomas
Jason Gray  So. F Lyndon
Jared Paul  Jr. G Castleton
Player of the Year  
Josh Jones  Sr. F Husson
Defensive Player of the Year
Isaiah Brathwaite Sr. F Thomas
Rookie of the Year  
Phil Warrick Fr. G Lyndon
Co-Coaches of the Year  
Warren Caruso     Husson
Joe Krupinski     Lyndon

Team Sportsmanship Award  
Johnson State College