New England ends Lyndon’s title run

New England ends Lyndon’s title run

LYNDON CENTER, Vt. — The New England College men's cross country team won its first-ever North Atlantic Conference title in grand fashion Sunday when it edged Lyndon 35-38, ending the Hornets' three-year reign as NAC champions.

Medalist Antoine Gisore topped the field of 81 runners with a time of 28:27.9 to lead the Pilgrims to victory. Teammate Makopa Rugabirwa placed fourth in 30:07.5 and Taylor Annett came in sixth in 30:13.2. New England's Matt Meyers rounded out the team's top-10 finishers in eighth place with a mark of 30:33.9.

Michael Farmer was the top Lyndon finisher in third place with a time of 29:52.5 while fellow Hornet Tyler Scheibenpflug placed fifth in 30:10.6 Josh Grant (30:42.0) and Joe Kill (30:55.6) placed ninth and 10th, respectively for Lyndon.

Colby Sawyer's Hayden Bunnell came in second in 29:49.3 and Green Mountain's Forrest Teutsch placed seventh in 30:25.4 to round out the top-10 finishers in the men's race.

In the women's race, Husson University walked off with the title despite a stern challenge from Colby-Sawyer College. The Eagles collected 48 points in the meet while the Chargers placed a close second with 55.

Medalist Salena Sykes, of the University of Maine at Farmington, ran to a first place finish in 22:21.0 while Colby-Sawyer's Caila Walker came in second in 22:34.5. Husson's Aleicia Palmer placed third in 23:02.2 and Brianne Dunn was the second Charger to cross the finish line in fourth place with a mark of 23:08.7.

The Eagle's Angela Stauble came in fifth in 23:15.1 before Mariah Eilers (23:41.5) and Shannon Park (23:49.8) of Castleton placed sixth and seventh, respectively. Emily Davis of Colby-Sawyer placed eight in 23:59.9, Lyndon's Allynne O'Hearn was ninth in 24:00.5 and Rachel Huber of  the University of Maine at Farmington came in 10th with a time of 24.:01.4.