Colby-Sawyer ousts Lyndon from NEAC East Division Championships

Colby-Sawyer ousts Lyndon from NEAC East Division Championships

NEW LONDON, N.H. – The Colby-Sawyer College women's tennis teams defeated Lyndon 9-0 in the semifinals of the 2011 North Eastern Athletic Conference East Division championships.

The loss dropped the Hornets to 5-7 overall and 4-4 in the NEAC East. Lyndon senior Kaitlin Cunningham (Manteca, Calif.) ended her career on a high note with a selection to the All-Tournament team.

In the league title match, Castleton defeated Colby-Sawyer 5-4 to walk off with its third-straight NEAC East title.

Colby-Sawyer 9, Lyndon State 0

Singles competition
1. Liz Lincoln (CSC) def. Kayla Flynn (LYN) 6-1, 6-2
2. Claire Toffey (CSC) def. Kelsey Johnson (LYN) 6-1, 6-1
3. Siobhan Masse (CSC) def. Margaret Harrington (LYN) 6-1, 6-2
4. Ellen Graham (CSC) def. Olivia Bernard (LYN) 6-3, 6-2
5. Kathleen Rogers (CSC) def. Kaitlin Cunningham (LYN) 6-1, 6-0
6. Ari Marks (CSC) def. Margaret George (LYN) 6-0, 6-1

Doubles competition
1. Liz Lincoln/Claire Toffey (CSC) def. Kayla Flynn/Kelsey Johnson (LYN) 8-1
2. Ellen Graham/Siobhan Masse (CSC) def. Margaret George/Margaret Harrington (LYN) 8-2
3. Kathleen Rogers/Ari Marks (CSC) def. Olivia Bernard/Kaitlin Cunningham (LYN) 8-2

All-Tournament Team
MVP – Kate Bucci – Castleton
Brittni Racine – Castleton
Liz Lincoln – Colby-Sawyer
Kaitlin Cunningham - Lyndon
Kate Murphy – Johnson State