Flynn earns All-NEAC East honors

Flynn earns All-NEAC East honors

CASTLETON, Vt. - Lyndon's Kayla Flynn, a sophomore Meteorology major from Johnston, R.I., was named a First-Team All-North Eastern Athletic Conference East Division singles selection for a second-consecutive season. A year ago, Flynn was named to both the All-NEAC East First-Team in singles and doubles and walked off with the conference's Rookie of the Year Award as well.

In the 2011 season, playing out of first and second flight singles and No. 1 doubles, Flynn amassed an overall singles record of 8-4 and a mark of 6-2 in the NEAC East. In doubles play, she teamed with Kelsey Johnson to record an overall record of 5-7 and a conference mark of 3-5.

Castleton senior Michelle Podnecky was chosen as the North Eastern Athletic Conference East Division Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Podnecky has earned the award three years in a row and has compiled a combined 34-2 record in conference competition at No.1 singles and doubles over that span. Podnecky was honored as a first-team selection as both a singles and doubles player.

Thomas first-year Jessica Bowen earned conference Rookie of the Year honors, compiling six total wins against conference opponents at No. 1 singles and doubles.

Castleton's Rob Purdy and Colby-Sawyer's Barry Schoonmaker shared Coach of the Year honors. The two teams finished tied atop the NEAC East standings at 6-1, and after splitting a pair of regular season matches, Purdy's Spartans came out on top in a 5-4 marathon for the division title.

Johnson State received the Team Sportsmanship Award fo rthe second-straight season. NEAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

2011 NEAC East Division All-Conference Team
Singles First Team   
Kate Bucci  Sr Castleton
Kayla Flynn So Lyndon
Amy Lincoln So    Colby-Sawyer
Michelle Podnecky Sr Castleton
Brittni Racine Sr Castleton
Claire Toffey Jr Colby-Sawyer
Doubles First Team   
Amy Lincoln/Claire Toffey   Colby-Sawyer
Brittni Racine/Chelsea Crehan   Castleton
Michele Podnecky/Kate Bucci   Castleton
Player of the Year   
Michele Podnecky Sr Castleton
Rookie of the Year   
Jessica Bowen Fr Thomas
Co-Coaches of the Year   
Rob Purdy   Castleton
Barry Schoonmaker   Colby-Sawyer
Team Sportsmanship Award   
Johnson State