Flynn named to All-NEAC East team

Flynn named to All-NEAC East team

LYNDON CENTER, Vt. — For a third consecutive season, Kayla Flynn of the Lyndon women's tennis program has been named to the All-North Eastern Athletic Conference Team.

Flynn, a junior from Johnston, R.I., amassed a singles record of 7-4 in the 2012 campaign – mostly out of the No. 1 slot – and teamed with both Maria Parr and Kelsey Johnson to earn a respectable mark of 6-7 in first flight doubles.

Colby-Sawyer's perfect NEAC East Division Women's Tennis season was recognized by the conference coaches as two-thirds of the all-conference team was made up of Chargers.

Junior Liz Lincoln reaped Player of the Year honors after going a perfect 8-0 at number-one singles and doubles during conference play. The award caps a stellar season in which Lincoln earned Player of the Week honors twice in addition to NEAC East Tournament Most Valuable Player accolades.

Lincoln is joined by teammates Charlotte Horton, Ashlyn Ramsay and Claire Toffey on the All-Conference squad, while Jessica Bowen of Thomas, along with Flynn, rounded out the six-player list.

Lincoln and Toffey combined to earn a spot on the all-conference doubles team, while Ramsay and Donna Gordon also represented Colby-Sawyer and the duo of Bowen and Tyler Ventura was the final team honored.

Ramsay was named the league's top rookie after going 7-0 for the Chargers in her first season, playing primarily at number-two.

Thomas College Head Coach Lauren Bickford was voted Coach of the Year, leading the Terriers to the third seed in the NEAC East Tournament after finishing outside tournament contention a season ago.

Johnson State received the Team Sportsmanship Award for the fourth-straight season.
NEAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.
2012 NEAC East Division All-Conference Team

Singles First Team   
Jessica Bowen So. Thomas
Kayla Flynn So. Lyndon
Charlotte Horton Fr. Colby-Sawyer
Liz Lincoln Jr. Colby-Sawyer
Ashlyn Ramsay Fr. Colby-Sawyer
Claire Toffey Sr. Colby-Sawyer
Doubles First Team   
Liz Lincoln/Claire Toffey   Colby-Sawyer
Donna Gordon/Ashlyn Ramsay   Colby-Sawyer
Jessica Bowen/Tyler Ventura   Thomas
Player of the Year   
Liz Lincoln Jr. Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year   
Ashlyn Ramsay Fr. Colby-Sawyer

Coach of the Year   
Lauren Bickford   Thomas
Team Sportsmanship Award   
Johnson State