Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Hornet Student Athletes honored for their accomplishments

Hornet Student Athletes honored for their accomplishments

Lyndonville, VT - The Northern Vermont University-Lyndon Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hosted the annual Lyndon Hornets Athletic Banquet on Thursday evening.  The event celebrated the athletic and academic achievements of the 2018-2019 year.  Lyndon SAAC President Lexie Walker (Groton, CT) served as Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

Click HERE for a Photo Album of the evening's festivities.

Northern Vermont University President Dr. Elaine Collins congratulated the student athletes on their accomplishments.  She also publically displayed the NVU President's Cup for the first time.  This year, NVU-Lyndon and NVU-Johnson tied in their quest for possession of the Cup, so it will be awarded for the first time in 2019-2020.

Several major department awards were presented:

Dudley Bell Most Outstanding Male and Female Athletes:  senior women's track & field athlete Abby Salvadore (Portsmouth, NH) and senior men's lacrosse player Shea Jones (Hull, MA)

Champions of Character Award:  senior women's volleyball player Lexie Walker (Groton, CT)

Green and Gold Awards (female and male athletes with the highest GPA):  senior track and field and women's basketball athlete Abby Salvadore (Portsmouth, NH) and junior men's basketball and men's tennis player Neal Mulligan (Marshfield, VT)

Top Three Team GPA's:  1. Women's Cross Country (3.52), 2. Men's Track & Field (3.48), 3. Women's Basketball (3.43)

SAAC Coach of the Year:  baseball coach Reece Tanguay

SAAC Fan of the Year:  Tyler McInnis


Coaches for each of Lyndon's 15 varsity athletic teams presented team awards.  The list of athletes receiving team awards is as follows:

Women's Cross Country

Coaches Award - Isabelle Tuggle

Most Valuable Player - Zosia Prince

Men's Cross Country

Coaches Award - Matt Francis

Most Valuable Player - Anthony Pifari

Women's Tennis

Most Valuable Player - Savannah Jackson

Coaches Award - Faibe Achinda

Most Improved Player - Roze Yar

Men's Tennis

Most Valuable Player - Neal Mulligan

Coaches Award - Mukhtar Abdullahi

Most Improved Player - Abukar Hassan


Most Valuable Player - Emily Clancy

Coaches Award - Katherine Benalcazar

Men's Basketball

Michael Tessier Award - Zach Falkenburg

Hornet Core Values Award - Corey Frost

Most Outstanding Teammate - Damon Denteh

Women's Basketball

Most Valuable Player - Alissa Mitchell

Coaches Award - Alisha Celley

Women's Lacrosse

Most Valuable Player - Michaela Columbia

Coaches Award - Bayla Stewart

Men's Lacrosse

Most Valuable Player - Spencer Aubin

Coaches Award - Shea Jones


Most Valuable Player - Zak Johnson

Most Valuable Pitcher - Jake Jourdain

Claude Piche Award - Jason Doris

Men's Track & Field

Most Valuable Player - Kevin Desmond

Coaches Award - Robert Denton III

Women's Track & Field

Most Valuable Player - Abby Salvadore

Coaches Award - Jessica Hillman


Most Valuable Player - Cecilia Chamul

Coaches Award - Emma Moore


Men's Soccer

Frank Spears Award - Abukar Hassan

Most Valuable Player - Nolan Matthews

Women's Soccer

Autumn Fahey Award - Kelsey Holland

Most Valuable Player - Kelsey Jacobs


In addition, several superlative awards were voted on in real time by the student athletes in attendance:

Most Swagger:  Ricky Shuford

Most Sideline Energy:  Matt Tritto

Most Likely to Make Teammates Laugh:  Lauren Young

Best Play or Performance in a Single Contest:  Zosia Prince & Abby Salvadore winning NAC track & field championships

Most Likely to Miss the Bus:  Kyle DeRosia